Australia 2017 Part V: The Big Merino, Canberra and Chelsea Beach

My last Aussie post is about all the pit stops we had while driving somewhere.

For our drive back from Sydney to Melbourne, we stopped in Goulburn for some coffee at the Big Merino. The Big Merino is a 15.2 meters tall concrete merino ram. Visitors can climb to the top and look out through the Merino’s eyes to view the local area but since we were short on time, we skipped it.

20171012_091956

My uncle Mickey who’s lived almost his whole life in Australia actually never visited Canberra so we went to the National Arboretum and Lake Burley Griffin.

20171012_125125The National Arboretum Canberra was created after the area was burned out as a result of the 2001 and 2003 Canberra bush fires. It is one of the largest tree conservation projects in the world and focuses on the conservation, display and study of rare, endangered and significant trees from Australia and the world. While we were there, we also visited the National Bonsai and Penjing Collection as it’s free to wander around.

We then went to Lake Burley Griffin that is located in the center of Canberra and is perfect to see numerous institutions at once, such as the National Gallery, National Museum, National Library, Australian National University and the High Court that’s built on its shores.

And finally, I wanted to soak my feet in the Pacific Ocean and my auntie drove by Chelsea Beach as my very last pit stop before we went home.

DSC00502

I obviously need to be more consistent on this blog since we’re almost September and I’m only finishing my 2017 posts. At least the next post will finally take place in 2018. Fingers crossed I won’t be writing on New Year’s eve…


Leave a comment