Tomboy for life

Wikipedia says a tomboy is a girl who exhibits characteristics or behavior considered typical of a boy, including wearing masculine clothing and engaging in games and activities that are physical in nature and are considered in many cultures to be the domain of boys.

I was raised with boys and my dad’s rule was clear and simple: there shall be no distinction between boys and girls. The consequence to that rule is that it made me a tomboy since 1986.

DSC04229As a teen, wearing anything a bit tight was completely out of order and I couldn’t possibly consider wearing a skirt or a dress cause OMG I’d have to expose my short ugly chubby legs.

I did learn to shave my legs though and that was only cause of gym class where we had to wear shorts. Guys, if I’m oversharing right now, it’s not like your woman doesn’t get her wax done every couple of weeks…

SAMSUNGMy tomboy wardrobe decreased a bit after my very first ex. What he saw in me, I couldn’t wrap my head around it. I never wore makeup, only wore my hair in a ponytail, still had my braces and my fashion sense was so bad, I could’ve been a spokesperson for the colour blinds. He was the reason I started wearing colours that weren’t dark or dark and I consider him my very first ego booster.

The 2nd time I drastically changed my wardrobe was when I started my current job. I hadn’t even started yet or my now boss instantly told me to say goodbye to my jeans. I weeped the very next second. My jeans had always made me feel safe and all of a sudden, I had left my zone of safety to be thrown into the wilderness. But weirdly, that is what actually made me more feminine.

Working on my confidence is a work in progress. Whether my fashion is a hit or a miss, I’ve learned to work it either way. I have everything in my wardrobe now, even things I once never considered wearing, e.g.: blazers, flower tops, leggings, tight dresses, mini skirts, neck revealing (almost cleavage revealing) tops and the list goes on.

DSC05048For the tomboys out there, I haven’t turned into a vamp or anything. I still prefer spending 5 extra minutes in bed instead of putting on makeup. I retaliate a tiny bit at work by wearing coloured jeans and I wear my T’s and jeans on weekends.

Once a tomboy, always a tomboy. The only difference between who I am now and who I was 10 years ago is that I’m a tomboy on heals.

Leave a Reply

