The magic of Disney

In former posts, I’ve mentioned growing up watching horror movies and manga. However the very first time I ever went to the movies was to watch “The Beauty and the Beast”. Perhaps my French auntie wasn’t agreeing with what I was watching but she unconsciously turned me, like any other kid, into another victim of the Disney merchandise.

I instantly had my mom video record all the Disney classics from her colleague who then could make copies of any movies on VHS. Don’t know if it fits the description of a felony and even if it were, it’s been decades ago. There aren’t any proof left to start a case so please leave my mom alone as she was just making sure her children were culturally up-to-date compared to other kids.

Childhood memories that I’ve watched on tape:

  • Snow White and the 7 Dwarfs
  • Pinocchio
  • Dumbo
  • Lady and the Tramp
  • Cinderella
  • Bambi
  • The Little Mermaid
  • The Jungle Book
  • The Aristocats
  • The Beauty and the Beast
  • Aladdin
  • The Lion King
  • Pocahontas
  • Toy Story
  • The Hunchback of Notre-Dame
  • Mulan

I was a teen after “Mulan” and I had lost touch with the magic of Disney. I picked it up again with “Finding Nemo” and “Wall-E” and even though I love both movies, I’ve felt it missed the one thing that Disney was good at: soundtracks.

Why am I being so nostalgic now? While staying home with the flu, I had some time to do a movie marathon and “Frozen” was part of it. That movie brought back some pure nostalgia as I became a kid again. And yes, I can add it to my Disney classics’ list except there’s no more illegal videotaping involved.

Leave a Reply

