Tech dilemma

For anyone who’s never read any of my posts before, I have 3 brothers and we’re Asians so there’s a natural geek/nerd alarm that goes off whenever you’re anywhere near us.

We love manga, dramas, Asian music, comic-cons and are tech oriented but there’s no need to worry for us as we take pride in all of it.

P1190490My youngest bro Ba Boon, wanted to buy the Windows Surface Pro 3 for my birthday. And since I wasn’t comfortable having him buy me such an expensive gift, I negotiated that I’d buy the Pro 3 myself and he could buy me all the accessories that goes with it like the expensive keyboard that is not included in the price.

Where lies the dilemma? I started checking out everything else that’s on the market and I’m racking my brain now to make my final choice.


So what is it I need? I need a laptop or a 2-in-1 laptop that’s not too heavy and that I can easily throw in my bag. I also need one that will still be working at a pretty good speed cause I’ve started taking online courses in PS and I also have an interest in InDesign and Graphic Design. Also being a girl, the cute factor plays an important role.

To sum it up, I’ve checked out all the laptops available in the stores with 128 to 256 Go, Intel I5 or I7 and 4 to 8 Go RAM and here’s my selection:

Years ago when I still was a penniless student, I wanted a Sony Vaio for the most ungeeky reason of all time: it was pink and cute. Fast forward to 2012, I was hypnotized by Samsung’s Ultrabook Series 9 commercial. I loved it’s design and I actually had a crush on it but I had decided on my Acer Iconia as I was curious to work with the then best 2-in-1 laptop. I still have my Iconia and I still love it but having it work slowly whenever someone sends me a huge picture file is not an option anymore.

So do I pick pink and cute or do I go with my crush? In 2015, I don’t get to pick any of the 2 as Sony and Samsung stopped the fabrication of these laptops.


As for the 2-in-1 laptops, beside the Surface Pro 3, I also like the Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro (cause the 3 Pro is still quite expensive). The reason it caught my attention in the store is the fact that you can flip the screen back 360 degrees until it rests flat against the backside of the keyboard. It actually looks really cool.

The Surface Pro 3 however, is cheaper so it was a no-brainer to scratch the Lenovo Yoga Pro 2 off my list.


Ba Boon pointed out 2 more laptops before making my final decision: the Acer Aspire Switch and the ASUS TP500LN. Both cheaper than the Pro 3 and everything I require from a laptop… except the fact that it’s not aesthetically pleasing to me.

How am I supposed to explain to a guy that I prefer to pay an extra €200 for the Pro 3 cause I find it prettier? There’s only one explanation that makes sense: Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus.

And finally, Windows’ nemesis: Apple. The Macbook Air is sold practically at the same price as the Pro 3 and they’re equally good.

The only difference: the Surface Pro 3 has a touchscreen, a pen and converts to a tablet. So it’s just about preferences: do I want a laptop or do I want a 2-in-1 laptop?

The conclusion to my dilemma: I want the Windows Surface Pro 3. Why?

@boys: there’s no real sane reason.

@girls: because it’s cute.

Or maybe having one of my favourite songs, 2NE1’s “I Am The Best”, as their promo convinced me of its extra cool factor.

Leave a Reply

