When you realize you’re not that young anymore…

The Festivities in Lokeren are tradition to me. I always go to at least one concert out of the 10 days and this year I had planned a GNO with my girls on hip hop night with our favourite P.I.M.P. 50 Cent.

2014-08-09 20.47.05We’ve had an amazing few weeks of sun and a few fluffy white clouds but on the one day I’ve decided to see a concert, it was grey and it started pouring rain. That day, I’ve come to realize that I wasn’t that young anymore and here are a few reasons why:

  • Our parties used to be all about food. Our menu consisted of: egg rolls, escargots, Belgian fries with curry ketchup and Carbonade à la flamande (a traditional Belgian sweet-sour beef and onion stew made with beer), giant Brussels waffles and oliebollen (Dutch doughnuts). How do I know we’re not that young anymore: we were full after eating only 2 things out of that menu and we didn’t even bother buying the rest. Rewind to 10 years ago, we would have finished it all and order some more.
  • Comfort has also become important. We didn’t want to spend €40 for a concert knowing we wouldn’t enjoy it under the pouring rain. 10 years ago, I would’ve danced till there was a puddle of water in my sneakers.
  • I can go out or have late nights. But what I don’t want to do anymore is combine the two. When you get older, you have responsibilities, meetings, projects to complete, a home to clean etc. When your friends ask you to stay out for one more drink, you don’t wonder how late it is, but how much work you have for tomorrow.
  • You can’t stay up past midnight during weekdays. I used to stay up every night until 2 or 3 am listening to the radio. Now? Music has become my lullaby.
  • “We weren’t like that when we were their age” is a saying I use frequently now. This is also known as an “Oh my God, I am turning into my mom” moment!
  • Having a bad memory. Fact: I started this blog cause I can’t remember anything any longer than a certain period of time, which isn’t very long…
  • When I used to look in the mirror in the morning, I looked for new signs of acne, now I look for puffiness and wrinkles.
  • You don’t like today’s idol music. Back when you were younger, Destiny’s Child, Xtina, JT, Eminem and Linkin Park were my go-to artists for music. You know you’re not young anymore if you don’t like the Biebs’ song cause it sounds like a 3-minute repeat of “baby” and “no”.
  • If you think it’s astonishing that people born after you graduated highschool are tweens now. I mean, aren’t all people born after the 2000’s babies?
  • I am no longer able to just rattle off my age in an instant. In other words, when I actually have to calculate it in my head. It’s been that way since 2008 at my cousin’s wedding in Phuket. I was… (quick calculation) 21.

From what I hear, the late-20’s to mid 30’s are the best times of your life, which is where I am now and which I can also confirm. I’m certainly not saying I’m old now and I have no worries about celebrating every birthday of mine. Heck, I wouldn’t even wan’t to go back to how I was a couple of years ago. I’ve got some experience and there’s nothing I can’t do because of age restrictions. Despite that you see teens that think I’m old and you just have to laugh off the naivety. It is however still fun to tell them “Wait till you get to my age you little punk!”

Leave a Reply

